Sephora.com, Inc.

Beauty News: Nivea Pulls its Racist Ad Targeted at Black Men

Beauty News: Nivea Pulls its Racist Ad Targeted at Black Men



It’s rather odd that at a time when Nivea has appointed Rihanna, a Black woman,  to the post of spokesperson, that they would even think of running an ad of a clean-shaven, preppy-dressed black man who is chucking his previous “uncivilized” image.

What the heck kind of message is this? That rocking a head full of natural hair and a goatee equals uncivilization?

Clearly, Blacks, who have a buying power of over $836 billion (2010 Target Market News), with over $7.4 billion going towards personal care and professional services, need to boycott Nivea, no matter how much we like Rihanna.  Rihanna got paid and we  black folks should not be the ones footing the bill.

It’s time we patronize our own.  Recycle our money into our comunities.  Buy from local beauty vendors.  And if we choose to buy online or in a drugstore, buy products that are made by us and for us.  (Sounds a bit like FUBU…)

 size-full wp-image-11085

 

What do you think?  Do you think we are getting used?  Has the marketing industry ignored our culture and assumed that the mainstream black man wants to look generic?  Does Nivea have a diversity program?

Does clean shaven, short hair and clothes that fit indicate that a black male is civil?  

We want to hear your thoughts!

Here is a list of Black-owned beauty brands:

Asili Body Products: http://www.asilibodyproducts.com/

Sol Therepe Organics: http://soltherepeorganics.com/

Eunique Skincare: http://www.eunique-skincare.com/

Ada Cosmetics – Mineral Makeup for Women of Color – Ada Cosmetics
Advina Natural: http://www.adivanatural.com/
Afrikan Republic: www.afrikanrepublic. com
Afroveda: www.afroveda.com
Akamuti OK: Akamuti ® – 100% Natural Skincare
Alaffia: http://www.alaffia.com/hair-care
Annette Cosmetiques – Annette2 Cosmetiques
Anita Grant – https://anitagrant.com/
Ari Hair and Body: www.arihairandbody.com
Asha’s: http://www.myashas.com/
Barry Fletcher – Barry Fletcher Products – District Heights, MD
Beauty by Donna Marie –http://beautybydonnamarie.com/store/index.php
Beauty Genesis – http://beauty-genesis.com/index.aspx
Bee Mine: http://www.beemineproducts.com/
Black Hair Growth – Black Hair Growth – Grow Healthy Black, African, and Afro-Caribbean Hair
Blended Beauty – blendedbeauty.com
Boundless Tresses – Growth Specifics, Boundless Tresses
Bronner Bros. – Products
Bubble-Up – BubbleUp, Ltd. ::
Butters-N-Bars: www.butters-n-bars.com
Carol’s Daughter – www.carolsdaughter.c om
Cheryl Moss: http://www.cherylsproducts.com/id11.html
Cornrows and Co: http://www.cornrowsandco.com/
Cowrie Shell: http://www.cowrieshellcenter.com/vie…/vts/design003
Created By Nature: http://www.createdbynature.ecrater.com/
Curls – www.curls.biz
Curls by Sisters Smith – Sales/Announcements
Curl Harmony – http://www.curlharmony.co.uk/
Curl Junkie – Curly Hair Care Products for Naturally Beautiful Curls – Curl Junkie Hair Products – Addicted to Curls!
Darcy’s Botanicals: http://www.etsy.com/shop/darcysbotanicals
DeLousie’s Naturals: De Louise Naturals – Home
Ebene – Ebene – Natural Hair and Body Care, Non-toxic, Organic Hair and Body Care
Ebene Kids – Natural Hair Care Products for Children with Curly, kinky hair
Ebony of Essence: http://www.ebonyofessence.com/
E’tae – E’Tae Products
Eugenia – http://www.eugeniacosmetics.net/index.php (French Vendor)
Grow Afro Hair Long – Afro Hair Regimen
Hair Veda – Home
Hairobics – Natural Hair Loss Treatment, Hair Products for Black Hair, Thinning Hair, Conditioner, Shampoo, Dandruff Control, Scalp Treatment, Hair Growth Products for Men and Women, Skin Care Beauty Products, Hair Vitamins – Hairobics All Natural
Hairoine: http://www.thehairoine.com/
Happy People Only: http://www.hpospatreatments.com/products/
Healing Herbs by Renee: http://healingherbsbyrene.weebly.com/
Hydratherma Naturals: http://healthyhairjourney.com/
Indigofera: http://www.indigofera.com/
Inky – www.inkylovesnature. com
Kalawentz: www.blacknbossie.com
Jamaican Mango & Lime Products – Jamaican Mango & Lime Products
Karen’s Body Beautiful – http://www.karensbodybeautiful.com/
Khemistry Kosmetiks: http://www.khemistrykosmetiks.com/se…are/Categories
Kimble Hair Care System – www.kimblehaircare.c om
Kinky Curly – www.kinkycurly.com
Koils by Nature: http://www.koilsbynature.com/
Kynk – www.kynk.ca
LaVida – http://www.lavidagivenbynat ure.com
Leanna’s – Leanna’s Natural Hair Products
Lisa Akbari- http://www.lisaakbari.com/content/index.html
Long Lovely Locks – Long Lovely Locks Organic Hair Care Products – Handmade – Cruelty Free and Vegan Hair Care
Madame Walker: http://www.madamewalker.net/Products…4/Default.aspx
Mineral Indulgence: http://www.mineralindulgence.com/Hai…_Products.html
Miss Jessie’s – www.missjessies.com
Mixed Chicks – www.mixedchicks.net
My Asha’s – Asha’s…Handmade Natural Products that Nurture
My Honey Child – www.myhoneychild.com
Nadia (She Scent It) Shescentit – Natural Care for beautiful hair.
Nattral: Nattral.com : Health : Culture : Style (knitware)
Nature Essential Ingredients: http://www.neibeautycare.com/index.html
New Bein’ – Welcome to New Bein’ on the web
Nubian Heritage – Nubian Heritage – Your All-Natural and Organic Skin Care Source / Home
Njoi Creations: njoicreations
Northwest Scents: http://www.nwscents.com/
Nubian Silk – Black Hair Care Products | Nubian Silk Black Hair Care Product | NubianSilk.com
Nubian Kinks: http://www.nubiankinksproducts.com/
Ohn Products: http://www.goingohm.com/
Organic Root Stimulator – http://www.organicrootstimu lator.com
Organikah: http://www.organikah.com/
The Original Fragrance Shop: http://www.theoriginalfragranceshop….php?p=1_5_Hair
Oyin – http://oyinhandmade.com/
Price Treatments – Pricewell Special Treatment For Fragile Hair
Products of the Earth: http://www.productsoftheearth.com/ca…8d29e7b978a7f3
Saniyyah… Naturally – http://www.saniyyahnaturally.com/index.html
Sheabutter Cottage UK – Sheabutter Cottage
Sheago: Sheago | Loving Yourself
Sisterlocks – http://sisterlocks.com/hairproducts.html
Stuz Organic Hair Solutions – StuzTemplate
Sunrise Products – Sunrise Products
Sweet Nature by Eddie: http://www.sweetnaturebyeddie.com/
Taliah Waajid – Braids, Weaves & Things
Taria’s Curls – tariacurlz.com
Treasured Locks – Black Hair Care, African American Hair Care, Natural Hair, Black Hair Style, Black Hair Growth, Biracial Hair Care
Qhemet Biologics – www.qhemetbiologics. com
UBH (Cathy Howse) – www.ubhpublications. com
Unkle Funky’s Daughter: http://www.unclefunkysdaughter.com/
Vontè – vonte movie
Wanakee – HairOil.Com – Verifen Complex

Beauty Supply:
Abantu – http://abantu.com (Online Beauty Supply)
AfroKinks – index.html
Aziza Beauty – Aziza Beauty Supply | Natural Beauty Products | Natural Hair Care | Natural Skin Care | Ethnic Hair Care
Curlicious – Down for Maintenance : Curlicious, Premium Care for Beautiful Hair
Tresses 2Die4 – Retailers of hair products for mixed race and curly hair
Beautiful Madame: http://www.beautifulmadame.com/
HoneyFig – SISTASPLACE.BIZ
Sistas Place – SISTASPLACE.BIZ




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

  • The man behind creating the ad was African American so that goes to show how he views African American men.

    • That’s amazing.  What does he see when he looks in the mirror?

  • These companies have no racial sensitivity whatsoever!  First it was Summer’s Eve and now this.  I’ve worked at several advertising, marketing and PR firms and oftentimes there literally no people of color employed in key positions.  Either they are admins or work in the mailroom!   They either need to hire people of color or go to multi-cultural agencies for their advertising and marketing needs.  Clearly they have no clue!

POPSUGAR Select PLUS